Wrap Ups

(Late) Reading Wrap Up- August 2020

Apologies for another late wrap up, I’ve been keeping a little more up to date on my Instagram, but I haven’t had the time for the extra work that I put into writing blog posts recently! But I figured an imperfect blog post is better than no post at all, so this will be a little briefer than my usual wrap ups.
I had a really horrendous and difficult month in terms of my personal life, which I am still really struggling with, so the very beginning of the month was great for reading, but I didn’t get to the majority of the reading I meant to do past that point. I have continued with my Sailor Moon read, and re-read a childhood favourite as I needed some fictional comfort blankets in August!

I read:

Leaf Fluttering in Wind on HTC Sense 7
Cinderella is Dead by Kalynn Bayron- 4.5 Stars
– I read this for the Tandem UK instagram readalong, and really enjoyed it! It’s a fun, fresh take on the Cinderella story. It’s a dystopian reimagining of the story, with a lot of interesting ideas, LGBT rep, and kept me guessing the whole time. Some twists were predictable but there were quite a few shocks in there, and I felt like I couldn’t wait to know what happened next. The ending was a little rushed but overall it was a brilliant retelling and I recommend it for anyone who wants something new and exciting, but loves retellings.


Leaf Fluttering in Wind on HTC Sense 7

Sabriel by Garth Nix- 5 Stars
– This is one of my all-time favourite books, and I will never stop recommending it! I’ve read it so many times (I try for once a year -sometimes more- and have been doing that for 17 years) but it feels like home whilst also continuing to enthral me. Sabriel is such a brave, strong and brilliant character, whilst also being scared, inexperienced and vulnerable. She was such an important character for me growing up, and her growth into an Abhorsen is one of my all-time favourite character arcs.

Leaf Fluttering in Wind on HTC Sense 7

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon vol 6 – 5 Stars
– Following on from the previous volumes, this one introduces some new guardians, new enemies, and higher stakes than ever before. This is a brilliant volume, and there’s also some exploration of gender and LGBT rep through Haruka and Michiru, who I absolutely adore. They’ve always been one of my favourite Sailor Moon relationships, and they make this storyline so much better.


Leaf Fluttering in Wind on HTC Sense 7

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon vol 7 – 5 Stars
– There is SO much to love about this volume. Super Sailor Moon, internal conflict within the guardians, more enemies, new information about the guardians and general Sailor Moon excellence.


Leaf Fluttering in Wind on HTC Sense 7

Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – 5 Stars
– This was such a fun read! A brilliant middle-grade with a lot of adventure, high stakes, Greek mythology, great characters and a really fantastic world. don’t know why it took me so long to finally read the whole thing (I read the first half more than 10 years ago then forgot about it!) because it’s excellent! It was easy to get lost in the world, and I definitely recommend it.


Leaf Fluttering in Wind on HTC Sense 7

Percy Jackson & The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan – 4.5 Stars
– Another brilliant read, with more mythology this time, some new and brilliant characters and even more going on! I enjoyed this one a little less due to some slightly problematic language (though this is an older book) and Percy treating a character unfairly, even though I understand why. Despite that though, I really loved this, and can’t wait to read more of this series.

What was your favourite read in August?

Leave a comment